Š•nglish Bulgarian
RUF Award Logo

orthogonal: international forum for non-objective art, Sofia 2012

nonsofia, Sofia

nonsofia emerged as a conceptual framework in 2010 and was legally registered as a non-profit entity in 2012. The association offers institutional support for non-objective art in Bulgaria and has organised a number of events, including exhibitions, lectures, screenings, etc. Making constructive aesthetics recognisable within the Bulgarian social context and bringing Bulgaria onto the world map of non-objective art are among its goals.

Mobile: +359 888 240 869
Email: larypsed@gmail.com
Website: www.nonsofia.org






The logo of nonsofia.

Image courtesy nonsofia.




orthogonal: international forum for non-objective art, Sofia 2012
18.10 - 18.11, 2012, Red House Centre for Culture and Debate, Sofia


Due to a complex of historical and cultural factors, the absolute visual forms reached by Malevich and Mondrian in the early 1910s have almost no influence on Bulgarian modern art. Should we exclude the achievements of Georges Papazoff and Nikolay Diulgheroff, who left the country in their twenties, and the apocryphal stylizations of Peter Dochev and Georgi Yanakiev, one may argue that Bulgarian modernism is deprived of its natural integrity without a consciously held constructive period.

Conceived as international forum in 2011, orthogonal introduced the Bulgarian public to a number of leading contemporary artists and theoreticians, who work in the field of non-objective art. Apart from an exhibition of artifacts the event offered a programme of lectures and screenings which dealt with contemporary and historical issues of this yet little known in Bulgaria art movement. nonsofia’s ambition is that this forum becomes a regular festival which will expand in the future and remain permanently on the Bulgarian cultural agenda.

Participants: Dr. Angela Thomas, Erich Schmid (Switzerland), Prof. Dóra Maurer, Tibor Gáyor, András Wolsky, Barna Benedek (Hungary), Prof. Bruno Haas (Germany), José Heerkens, Richard van der Aa, Guido Winkler (the Netherlands), Nikolay Diulgheroff, Georgi Yanakiev, Maria Chakarova and Georgi Dimitrov (Bulgaria).